Go to Content Go to Navigation Go to Navigation Go to Site Search Homepage

These days there is so much partisan bickering in the halls of Congress that it is refreshing to hear about instances where important legislation is passed with broad bipartisan support, like with the reauthorization of the Violence Against Women Act.

While it took a few attempts and a few months extra effort in the House of Representatives, yesterday the Violence Against Women Act was finally reauthorized and will again become the law of the land.  With over 286 representatives from both sides of the aisle casting their “yea” to support the Senate version of VAWA, the vote to reauthorize the bill—and expand the protections for Native Americans, immigrants, and LGBT members across the country—is truly bipartisan.  VAWA ‘s reauthorization ensures that we will continue improving our nation’s response to domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault, and stalking, regardless of who needs protection. 

Of special note, I would like to thank the Republican House members who voted against an earlier version of VAWA in the House and pushed Republican leadership for the stronger Senate version that ultimately passed.  Original versions of the house bill did NOT include the new protections for Native Americans, immigrants, and LGBT victims of violence, and 33 Republicans voted against the stripped down version of VAWA and then went on to vote in support of the more inclusive Senate version.  These 33 members of Congress showed courage standing up to their party’s leadership and demanding a strong VAWA because no case of intimate partner violence in our country is acceptable. 

Here is the list of the 33 Republican members of Congress who voted against the watered down version of VAWA and then voted for the final inclusive version of VAWA that passed yesterday.  If you see your member listed here make sure to give their office a call and thank them for supporting VAWA! 

  • Jim Gerlach (PA-6th)
  • Chris Gibson (NY-19)
  • Michael Grimm (NY-11)
  • Joe Heck (NV-03)
  • Steve Pearce (NM-02)
  • Ted Poe (TX-02)
  • Ken Calvert (CA-42)
  • Dave Camp (MI-04)
  • Shelley Moore Capito (WV-02)
  • Mike Coffman (CO-06)
  • Tom Cole (OK-04)
  • Steve Daines (MT-At Large)
  • Darrell Issa (CA-49)
  • Frank LoBiondo (NJ-02)
  • John Runyan (NJ-03)
  • Mike Simpson (ID-02)
  • Jeff Denham (CA-10)
  • Charlie Dent (PA-15)
  • Mario Diaz-Balart (FL-25)
  • Michael Fitzpatrick (PA-08)
  • Rodney Frelinghuysen (NJ-11)
  • Cory Gardner (CO-04)
  • Patrick McHenry (NC-10)
  • David McKinley (WV-01)
  • Pat Meehan (PA-07)
  • Candice Miller (MI-10)
  • Scott Tipton (CO-03)
  • David Valadao (CA-21)
  • Bill Young (FL-13)

Tags: Republicans, Violence Against Women Act (VAWA)

Defend the Right to Abortion

With S.B. 8 now in effect, politicians, neighbors, and even complete strangers can sue anyone who helps a person access an abortion in Texas after six weeks.

This is a red-alert moment for sexual and reproductive rights. And that's why we need your help.

Stand With Us

URGENT: Abortion is now banned for most people in Texas

We can’t allow these extreme abortion bans to continue to spread. Do your part now by making an emergency gift to Planned Parenthood Action Fund to help fight back.


Is Abortion Legal in My State?

See your state’s current abortion laws — and learn how access to abortion would change if Roe v. Wade were overturned.

Get the Facts

Sign Up for Email

Sign Up