Go to Content Go to Navigation Go to Navigation Go to Site Search Homepage

Indiana SEA 201

PPAIK Grade: F-

Indiana Senate Enrolled Act (SEA) 201 expands Indiana's refusal clause to allow pharmacists, nurses, and others to refuse to provide abortion care. This is in addition to Indiana's existing refusal clause law, which is already very broad.

Current Status: Signed into law, will take effect July 1, 2019.


Signed into law by Gov. Holcomb.

Passted state House in a 69-25 vote. How did your state rep vote?

Passed House Committee on Public Health in a 9-4 vote.

Passed state Senate in a 39-1 vote. How did your state senator vote?

Passed Senate Committee on Health and Provider Services in an 8-1 vote.

Authored by Sen. Brown (R - Allen County).

Become an Advocate

Your voice is powerful. Find out how you can take action by sharing your story!

Learn more about refusal clauses

Refusal rules often use religion as an excuse to discriminate against patients and deny people health care.

  • According to one survey, the overwhelming majority of voters don't believe health care workers should be able to deny people care based on personal objections. See the data.
  • Mainstream medical groups have recognized the negative effects that refusal laws can have on patients and have called for patient protections. The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) says refusals should be “limited if they constitute an imposition of religious or moral beliefs on patients, negatively affect a patient's health, are based on scientific misinformation, or create or reinforce racial or socioeconomic inequalities.”
  • SEA 201 is part of a larger effort to allow health care providers to deny care to their patients. In 2017, the Trump-Pence administration issued birth control rules that would allow virtually any employer or university to deny coverage to its employees and students. They also created a new office within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), called the “Conscience and Religious Freedom Division.”