Go to Content Go to Navigation Go to Navigation Go to Site Search Homepage

Tennessee Advocates for Planned Parenthood, a c4 nonprofit committed to advocating for sexual and reproductive health and electing pro-abortion rights candidates across the state, has announced 36 endorsements for State Senate and State House.

“Tennessee is a pro-abortion rights state, where people have tended to support conservative candidates, but poll after poll shows that a majority want politicians to stay out of the exam room,” said Francie Hunt, executive director of Tennessee Advocates for Planned Parenthood. “The contrast could not be more clear. Every candidate we’ve endorsed today is running against someone who supports a total ban on all abortions — no exceptions — often against the wishes of their districts.”

Below is a complete list of candidates endorsed today by Tennessee Advocates for Planned Parenthood:



Jason Martin for Governor



Toniko Harris, House District 97

Ruby Powell Dennis, Senate District 31


State Sen. Raumesh Akbari, Senate District 29

State Sen. London Lamar, Senate District 33

House Minority Leader Karen Camper, House District 87

State Rep. Johnny Shaw, House District 80

State Rep. Jesse Chism, House District 85

State Rep. Barbara Cooper, House District 86

State Rep. Larry Miller, House District 88

State Rep Torrey Harris, House District 91

State Rep. G.A. Hardaway, House District 93

State Rep. Dewayne Thompson, House District 96

State Rep. Antonio Parkinson, House District 98


Challengers and open seats

Kelly Northcutt, Senate District 13

Charlane Oliver, Senate District 19

Laura Bohling, House District 34

Justin Jones, House District 52

Caleb Hemmer, House District 59

Ronnie Glynn, House District 67

Krystle James, House District 78


State Sen. Jeff Yarbro, Senate District 21

State Rep. Bob Freeman, House District 56

State Rep. Darren Jernigan, House District 60

House Democratic Caucus Chairman Vincent Dixie, House District 54

State Rep. Bo Mitchell, House District 50

State Rep. Bill Beck, House District 51

State Rep. Jason Powell, House District 53

State Rep. John Ray Clemmons, House District 55

State Rep. Harold Love, House District 58


Challengers and open seats

Kate Craig, Senate District 3

Bryan Langan, Senate District 7

Greg Kaplan, House District 18


State Rep. Sam McKenzie, House District 15

State Rep. Gloria Johnson, House District 90

State Rep. Yusuf Hakeem, House District 28



Tags: Tennessee, candidate_endorsements, tennessee legislature, 2022 election