Go to Content Go to Navigation Go to Navigation Go to Site Search Homepage

Reproductive Justice

Reproductive justice is a term that was coined in 1994 by a group of women of color representing a coalition of Black-, Indigenous-, and People of Color-led organizations. These sixteen organizations launched SisterSong Women of Color Reproductive Justice Collective in 1997 to build the national movement for reproductive justice. Learn more about SisterSong by clicking here.

Reproductive justice has four main components:

  1. The right to maintain bodily autonomy.
  2. The right to have children.
  3. The right to not have children.
  4. The right to parent the children one wants in safe and sustainable communities.

Protecting the legal rights to reproductive health services is important, but these rights do not mean anything if folks cannot access the reproductive health services they need - whether it is due to financial barriers, discriminatory practices, or any other reason.

To learn more about reproductive justice and the organizations currently leading in this field, please click here.