Go to Content Go to Navigation Go to Navigation Go to Site Search Homepage

Planned Parenthood Advocates of Arizona (PPAA) is proud to endorse candidates for public office who stand for:

  • Access to abortion
  • Access to health care
  • Racial justice
  • Keeping families together
  • Inclusive, age-appropriate, nondiscriminatory comprehensive health education
  • LGBTQ equality
  • Funding for reproductive health care services

In selecting candidates to endorse, there are many circumstances taken into consideration:

  • How important is the race?
  • Is the candidate prepared to make women’s health a pillar in their campaign?
  • Does the candidate have a robustly viable campaign and a path to victory?
  • How does Planned Parenthood strengthen the campaign?

PPAA endorsements are publicized through the PPAA website, social media, traditional press, and voter guides. Endorsed candidates may receive coordinated support from PPAA volunteers or direct PAC financial support, and are invited to be featured on our website in the “Meet Our Candidates” interview series we publish every election cycle.

Endorsements are for the current election cycle only. As part of our voter education and mobilization efforts, your response or lack of response may be shared with our membership and the voters of Arizona.

The endorsement deadline for legislative candidates closed on April 6, 2020. The deadline for non-legislative candidates is July 6, 2020.

2020 Endorsed Candidates

Daniel Hernandez
LD 2 House

Andrea Dalessandro
LD 2 House

Rosanna Gabaldon
LD 2 Senate

Alma Hernandez
LD 3 House

SallyAnn Gonzales 
LD 3 Senate

Andrés Cano 
LD3 House

Lisa Otondo
LD 4 Senate

Charlene Fernandez
LD 4 House

Geraldine Peten
LD 4 House

Coral Evans
LD 6 House

Felicia French
LD 6 Senate

Jamescita Peshlakai
LD 7 Senate

Arlando Teller
LD 7 House

Victoria Steele
LD 9 Senate

Pamela Powers-Hanley
LD 9 House

Domingo DeGrazia
LD 10 House

Kirsten Engel
LD 10 Senate

Felipe Perez, MD
LD 11 House

Joanna Mendoza
LD 11 Senate

Lynsey Robinson
LD 12 House

Kristin Dybvig-Pawelko
LD 15 House

Ajlan Kurdoglu
LD 17 Senate

Jennifer Pawlik
LD 17 House

Sean Bowie
LD 18 Senate

Jennifer Jermaine
LD 18 House

Mitzi Epstein
LD 18 House

Lupe Contreras
LD 19 Senate

Judy Schwiebert
LD 20 House

Doug Ervin
LD 20 Senate

Lela Alston
LD 24 Senate

Jennifer Longdon
LD 24 House

Melody Hernandez
LD 26 House

Juan Mendez
LD 26 Senate

Athena Salman
LD 26 House

Rebecca Rios
LD 27 Senate

Reginald Bolding
LD 27 House

Diego Rodriguez
LD 27 House

Kelli Butler
LD 28 House

Aaron Lieberman
LD 28 House

Christine Marsh
LD 28 Senate

Martín Quezada
LD 29 Senate 

Richard Andrade
LD 29 House

Cesar Chavez
LD 29 House

Tony Navarrete
LD 30 Senate

Raquel Terán
LD 30 House

Will Knight
Maricopa County Attorney

Jevin Hodge
Maricopa County Board of Supervisors, District 1

Whitney Walker
Maricopa County Board of Supervisors, District 3

Jeanne Casteen
Maricopa County  Superintendent of Schools

Laura Conover
Pima County Attorney