Go to Content Go to Navigation Go to Navigation Go to Site Search Homepage

Protect Access to Contraception
(PAC) Act 

On March 8, 2018, Rep. Erin Murphy and Sen. Sandy Pappas introduced the Protect Access to Contraception (PAC) Act (HF 3453 / SF 3101) to protect no-cost birth control in Minnesota.


The Trump Administration is taking direct aim at no-cost birth control coverage for 62 million women, including over 1 million Minnesotans, by attempting to eliminate guaranteed birth control coverage under the Affordable Care Act (ACA). This is an attack on basic health care that the vast majority of women will use in the course of their lifetime.

The PAC Act protects no-cost birth control coverage in Minnesota from further attacks by the Trump Administration and guarantees the basic right of people in Minnesota to control their own bodies, plan their families, and access the birth control method that is right for them, regardless of cost and free of political interference.

The PAC Act will provide critical birth control protections for Minnesotans:

  • Guarantee coverage for all FDA-approved forms of contraceptive drugs, devices and supplies without co-payments;

  • Ensure that patient education, contraception counseling and follow-up services are covered without co-payments; and

  • Ensure that medically necessary contraceptives, as recommended by a health care provider, are covered without co-payments.

Minnesota Legislators Announce Birth Control Protection Bill

March 8, 2018 - Minnesota Legislators and supporters gathered in the Minnesota State Capitol to announce legislation that will protect no-cost birth control coverage in Minnesota from further attacks by the Trump Administration. The Protect Access to Contraception (PAC) Act will protect no-cost birth control in Minnesota.

Statement from Governor Dayton

Today, Minnesota Legislators and supporters announced the Protect Access to Contraception (PAC) Act, to ensure insurance coverage for all FDA-approved contraceptives without cost to the patient.

Birth control is basic health care. It is central to women’s health and their educational and economic advancement. This is a conversation that shouldn’t be necessary in 2018. We should be decades beyond fighting for birth control, but since President Trump took office, we have seen real threats to keep women from accessing birth control.  Now it’s up to states like Minnesota to protect this fundamental health care benefit.

Sarah Stoesz, President of the Planned Parenthood Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota Action Fund


"Now, more than ever, womens' health care is under attack. That’s why it’s crucial that we protect womens' access to contraceptives here in Minnesota."

- Rep. Melissa Hortman, House Minority Leader


If it weren’t for Planned Parenthood I wouldn’t have been able to manage my PCOS. These matters should stay between me and my doctor and should never be up for debate by my boss or the President.

Sarah Barott, a Planned Parenthood patient, spoke about her experience with Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS) – a painful disease that can lead to infertility but can be managed by contraception.


Send Your Minnesota Legislators a Message Urging Them to Pass the PAC Act

Speak out and make sure your legislator is ready to support the PAC Act to protect no-cost birth control coverage in Minnesota and guarantee the basic right of people in Minnesota to control their own bodies, their families, and their future.


Thank You

Rep. Erin Murphy ● Sen. Sandy Pappas ● Rep. Melissa Hortman ● Sen. Tom Bakk ● Rep. Susan Allen ● Rep. Jamie Becker-Finn ● Rep. Connie Bernardy ● Rep. Andrew Carlson ● Rep. Karen Clark ● Rep. Jim Davnie ● Rep. Ray Dehn ● Rep. Peter Fischer ● Rep. Peggy Flanagan ● Rep. Mike Freiberg ● Rep. Laurie Halverson ● Sen. Jeff Hayden ● Rep. Deb Hilstrom ● Rep. Frank Hornstein ● Rep. Clark Johnson ● Sen. Susan Kent ● Rep. Erin Koegel ● Rep. Mary Kunesh-Podein ● Rep. Tina Liebling ● Rep. Diane Loeffler ● Sen. Tony Lourey ● Rep. Sandy Masin ● Rep. Jason Metsa ● Rep. Rena Moran ● Rep. Liz Olson ● Rep. Ilhan Omar ● Rep. Dave Pinto ● Rep. Laurie Pryor ● Rep. Erin Maye Quade ● Rep. Paul Rosenthal ● Rep. Jennifer Schultz ● Rep. Linda Slocum ● Rep. Cheryl Youakim