Go to Content Go to Navigation Go to Navigation Go to Site Search Homepage

Over 30 State and Local Candidates Endorsed for 2020 Election Cycle

RENO, NEVADA – Planned Parenthood Votes Nevada has announced its 2020 election endorsements in Nevada state races. In 2019, the Nevada Legislature increased funding for the state family planning grant program, and Nevada’s progress in reproductive health care access and abortion rights was achieved in large part to the election of reproductive health care champions at all levels of state and federal government.  Planned Parenthood Votes Nevada advocates on behalf of the thousands of Nevadans who depend on access to affordable, high-quality reproductive health care. 

Statement from Lindsey Harmon, Executive Director, Planned Parenthood Votes Nevada:

"Access to essential reproductive health care, especially as we work to mitigate the COVID19 pandemic, is vital to protecting the health and well-being of Nevadans. That’s why it’s especially important that we elect a slate of candidates who are willing to stand up for our rights and access to reproductive health care, including abortion. 

We don’t just need candidates who will defend against these relentless attacks --- we need champions who will fight to move us forward.  We are delighted to be supporting a solid slate of candidates up and down the ticket for the 2020 Elections.”

Planned Parenthood Votes Nevada endorses:

Nevada Assembly: 

District 1 -- Daniele Monroe-Moreno

District 3 -- Selena Torres

District 4 -- Connie Munk

District 5 -- Brittney Miller

District 6 -- Shondra Summers-Armstrong

District 7 -- Cameron “CH” Miller

District 8 -- Jason Frierson

District 9 -- Steve Yeager

District 10 -- Rochelle Nguyen

District 11 -- Bea Duran

District 12 -- Susie Martinez

District 14 -- Maggie Carlton

District 15 -- Howard Watts

District 17 -- Clara “Claire” Thomas

District 18 -- Venicia Considine

District 20 -- Dr. David Orentlicher

District 21 -- Elaine Marzola

District 27 -- Teresa Benitez-Thompson

District 28 -- Edgar Flores

District 29 -- Lesley Cohen

District 30 -- Natha Anderson

District 32 -- Paula Povilaitis

District 34 -- Shannon Bilbray-Axelrod

District 35 -- Michelle Gorelow

District 37 -- Shea Backus

District 41 -- Sandra Jauregui


Nevada State Senate: 

District 1 -- Patricia “Pat” Spearman

District 3 -- Chris Brooks

District 5 -- Kristee Watson

District 6 -- Nicole Cannizzaro

District 11 -- Dallas Harris

District 15 -- Wendy Jauregui-Jackins

District 18 -- Elizabeth “Liz” Becker


State Board of Education: 

State Board of Education D3 -- Felicia Ortiz


Clark County Commission: 

Clark County Commission DC -- Ross Miller


Paid for by Planned Parenthood Votes Nevada.  PPVNV is the statewide policy, education, lobbying and election arm of the Planned Parenthood health centers in Nevada.  Contributions to PPVNV are not tax-deductible; they may be used to support our independent, effective, citizen-based advocacy, lobbying, and election efforts.  Not authorized by any candidate or candidate’s committee.