Go to Content Go to Navigation Go to Navigation Go to Site Search Homepage

These days there is so much partisan bickering in the halls of Congress that it is refreshing to hear about instances where important legislation is passed with broad bipartisan support, like with the reauthorization of the Violence Against Women Act.

While it took a few attempts and a few months extra effort in the House of Representatives, yesterday the Violence Against Women Act was finally reauthorized and will again become the law of the land.  With over 286 representatives from both sides of the aisle casting their “yea” to support the Senate version of VAWA, the vote to reauthorize the bill—and expand the protections for Native Americans, immigrants, and LGBT members across the country—is truly bipartisan.  VAWA ‘s reauthorization ensures that we will continue improving our nation’s response to domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault, and stalking, regardless of who needs protection. 

Of special note, I would like to thank the Republican House members who voted against an earlier version of VAWA in the House and pushed Republican leadership for the stronger Senate version that ultimately passed.  Original versions of the house bill did NOT include the new protections for Native Americans, immigrants, and LGBT victims of violence, and 33 Republicans voted against the stripped down version of VAWA and then went on to vote in support of the more inclusive Senate version.  These 33 members of Congress showed courage standing up to their party’s leadership and demanding a strong VAWA because no case of intimate partner violence in our country is acceptable. 

Here is the list of the 33 Republican members of Congress who voted against the watered down version of VAWA and then voted for the final inclusive version of VAWA that passed yesterday.  If you see your member listed here make sure to give their office a call and thank them for supporting VAWA! 

  • Jim Gerlach (PA-6th)
  • Chris Gibson (NY-19)
  • Michael Grimm (NY-11)
  • Joe Heck (NV-03)
  • Steve Pearce (NM-02)
  • Ted Poe (TX-02)
  • Ken Calvert (CA-42)
  • Dave Camp (MI-04)
  • Shelley Moore Capito (WV-02)
  • Mike Coffman (CO-06)
  • Tom Cole (OK-04)
  • Steve Daines (MT-At Large)
  • Darrell Issa (CA-49)
  • Frank LoBiondo (NJ-02)
  • John Runyan (NJ-03)
  • Mike Simpson (ID-02)
  • Jeff Denham (CA-10)
  • Charlie Dent (PA-15)
  • Mario Diaz-Balart (FL-25)
  • Michael Fitzpatrick (PA-08)
  • Rodney Frelinghuysen (NJ-11)
  • Cory Gardner (CO-04)
  • Patrick McHenry (NC-10)
  • David McKinley (WV-01)
  • Pat Meehan (PA-07)
  • Candice Miller (MI-10)
  • Scott Tipton (CO-03)
  • David Valadao (CA-21)
  • Bill Young (FL-13)

Tags: Republicans, Violence Against Women Act (VAWA)

Is Abortion Still Legal in My State?

Learn about abortion access changes in your state.

Get the Facts

Demand court reform now!

To protect and advance our rights, we must reclaim our federal courts. 
Structural, systemic, and meaningful court reform is the only way to ensure that courts uphold the law and protect our rights.

Add your name

Planned Parenthood Action Fund Will NEVER Back Down

Know this: our right to abortion is not debatable. We will rebuild and reclaim the freedom that is ours.


Sign Up for Email

Sign Up

Explore more on


This website uses cookies

Planned Parenthood cares about your data privacy. We and our third-party vendors use cookies and other tools to collect, store, monitor, and analyze information about your interaction with our site to improve performance, analyze your use of our sites and assist in our marketing efforts. You may opt out of the use of these cookies and other tools at any time by visiting Cookie Settings. By clicking “Allow All Cookies” you consent to our collection and use of such data, and our Terms of Use. For more information, see our Privacy Notice.

Cookie Settings

Planned Parenthood cares about your data privacy. We and our third-party vendors, use cookies, pixels, and other tracking technologies to collect, store, monitor, and process certain information about you when you access and use our services, read our emails, or otherwise engage with us. The information collected might relate to you, your preferences, or your device. We use that information to make the site work, analyze performance and traffic on our website, to provide a more personalized web experience, and assist in our marketing efforts. We also share information with our social media, advertising, and analytics partners. You can change your default settings according to your preference. You cannot opt-out of our Necessary Cookies as they are deployed to ensure the proper functioning of our website (such as prompting the cookie banner and remembering your settings, to log into your account, to redirect you when you log out, etc.). For more information, please see our Privacy Notice.



We use online advertising to promote our mission and help constituents find our services. Marketing pixels help us measure the success of our campaigns.



We use qualitative data, including session replay, to learn about your user experience and improve our products and services.



We use web analytics to help us understand user engagement with our website, trends, and overall reach of our products.